Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Ohio ESC Association


Ajax Loading Image


Critical Issues Committee

Addressing Advocacy & Legislative Issues to ESCs  

Composition: 9 members (additional members may be added by a majority vote of the committee)

Ohio ESC personnel can volunteer for a 2024-25 OESCA Standing Committee via this form


  • Study proposed legislation and make recommendations to the Executive Committee and/or membership.
  • Identify key legislative priority issues.
  • Create political action agenda.
  • Design and implement legislative action plan.
  • Market association to state level policymakers.
  • Make regular reports to Executive Committee.


  • Be an active member and participant.
  • Commit to meeting at least 4 times each year.
  • Support the legislative agenda and action plan of the organization.
  • Work to promote or defeat proposed legislation in accordance with established association positions.
  • Make regular reports to executive committee and to membership at annual meetings.

Aligned to OESCA Goal #4 - Build strategic partnerships to advance OESCA’s organizational priorities and to establish recognition of OESCA’s value by state policy makers, allied organizations, and key local and regional stakeholders.

Aligned to OESCA goal #3 - Actively advocate to increase the capacity of member ESCs to provide cost-effective, quality services.

Contact: Craig Burford, OESCA Executive Director, burford@oesca.org


2023-24 Committee Members

Shawn Brown, Auglaize County ESC

Mike Candela, Ashtabula County ESC

Shannon Cox, Montgomery County ESC

Jennifer Dodd, ESC of Northeast Ohio

Christopher Fox, Montgomery County ESC

Sandy Frisch, ESC of Lake Erie West

Franco Gallo, ESC of Lorain County

Tom Goodney, ESC of Central Ohio

Homer Hendricks, Northwest Ohio ESC

Gary Herman, Putnam County ESC

Chad Hilliker, Hamilton County ESC

Bob Hlasko, ESC of Medina County

Traci Hostetler, ESC of Eastern Ohio

Craig Kupferberg, Allen County ESC

Matthew Ketcham, Madison-Champaign ESC

Chuck Kokiko, Jefferson County ESC

David Larson, Miami County ESC

Lori Lowe, Muskingum Valley ESC

Randy Lucas, East Central Ohio ESC

Bob Marino, Trumbull County ESC

Sandy Mers, South Central Ohio ESC

Mary Mitchell, Madison-Champaign ESC

Jan Osborn, Putnam County ESC

Barbara Shaner, Hamilton County ESC

Greg Slemons, ESC of the Western Reserve

Shelly Vaughn, Mercer County ESC

Marie Ward, Fairfield County ESC

Kerri Weir, Northwest Ohio ESC

Joe Weitz, ESC of Central Ohio

Related Sites

Note: Pages will open in a new browser window. External pages are not endorsed by Ohio ESC Association.